First woman president of India

Pratibha Patil was appointed as the first woman president of India. She served as the 12th president of India from 2007 to 2012.

Pratibha Patil became the first women president of India in 2009
Mrs. Pratibha Patil, Source

Prior to becoming the president of India, she was serving at the post of governor in the state of Rajsthan from 2004 to 2007.

Pratibha Patil was born in 1934 in the state of Maharastra. She took her education in various schools and colleges in Maharastra. She was associated with the Indian National Congress for a long period of time.

She was chosen as a member of the Legislative Assembly of Maharastra multiple times and served in Maharastra state government in various ministry. She held a lot of key portfolios in the Maharashtra government multiple times.

She was also chosen as a member of both the houses of parliament, Lok Sabha as well as Rajya Sabha from the different constituencies in the state of Maharastra.

She became the first woman president of India in the year 2007, and till now she is the only women president to hold this post. She served as the president of India when the UPA government was in power.

During her tenure as the president of India, a lot of important decisions were taken by the government of India. India-US Nuclear deal was signed during her period as President of India.

Smt Pratibha Patil

Commonwealth Game took place in the year 2010 in New Delhi. She gave the opening address and kick off the game.

Who is the first woman President of India?

Smt Pratibha Patil became the first woman to serve as the president of India. She remains in office from May 2007 to May 2012.