First Speaker of Lok Sabha: Presiding Officer

Ganesh Vasudev Mavlankar (G.V. Mavlankar) became the first Lok Sabha Speaker. He was chosen as the Speaker in the first Lok Sabha. First Lok Sabha was constituted on 17 April 1952 after the first General Election in Independent India.

G.V. Malvankar became the first speaker of Lok sabha
G.V. Malvankar, Source

He was succeeded by the M.A. Ayyangar

Speaker of Lok Sabha is a prestigious post and he is responsible for the conduct of Business in the Lower House of the parliament. He has the authority to decide whether any bill is a money bill and his decision on this matter will be final.

All the committee of parliament submits its report to the Lok Sabha Speaker and chairman of the parliamentary committee is appointed by the Lok Sabha Speaker. He also presides over the joint sitting of parliament.

He continues to hold this post when Lok Sabha gets dissolved remains at his till next Lok Sabha convene after a fresh election.

G.V. Mavlankar was an Independent India activist and he participated in the Independent movement. He gets involved in the national movement from the time of the Non-Cooperation Movement. He also joints the Swaraj party formed by the Motilal Nehru in 1923.

G.V. Mavlankar participated in the Civil Disobedience Movement and Dandi March led by Mahatma Gandhi.

He served at the post of President of Central Legislative Assembly from 1946 to 1947. He became the Speaker of Constituent Assembly of India in 1947 and continued at this post till 1952(even when the name of the constituent assembly was changed to Provisional Parliament).

When the first General Election was held in India after Independent in 1951-52 and First Lok Sabha was constituted on 17 April 1952. He was chosen as the Speaker. He continued at this post till January 1956. He was chosen for Lok Sabha from Gujrat.