First person to get Bharat Ratna

C. Rajagopalachari, S. Radhakrishnan and C.V. Raman became the first persons to get Bharat Ratna in 1954. These three persons were awarded Bharat Ranta in the same year on which this award has been constituted.

First Bharat Ratna was awarded in the year 1954
First Bharat Ratna Awardee, Source

Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian award in India. It is given to the person who does exceptional work for the service of the nation. This award is given by the President of India on the recommendation of the Prime Minister.

This award can be awarded to not only the citizen of India but also the citizen of India but the citizen of other countries as well. Nelson Mandela and Khan Abdul Gaffar Kahan are the two persons of other nation who has got this award.

Though Article 18 of the Indian constitution prohibits the state from conferring any title to its citizen. This award is provided by the Government of India on the condition that it will not be used in the prefix or suffix of his name.

C. Rajagopalachari was the last Governor-General of India. He became the only Indian to hold this post from 1948 to 1950.

C. Rajagopalachari has a great contribution to the Indian National Movement. The actively participated in the Civil Disobedience Movement. C. Rajagopalachari Formula was given by him to bring Muslim League back on the table so that India can be freed.

Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan was the professor by the carrier. But after independence, he served at various key posts like Indian Representative to UNESCO, India Ambassador to USSR, two time Vice-President of India. He also serves at the position of President of India from 1962 to1967.

C.V. Raman was the Indian scientist who won the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1930 and has contributed to the field of atomic physics and electromagnetism. Raman Effect theory was given by him.

The award of Bharat Ratna was constituted in the year 1954 as the highest civilian honor provided by the Government of India. These three people became the first persons to get Bharat Ratna.