First Nuclear Power Plant of India

Tarapur Nuclear Power Plant became the first nuclear power plant in India. It is located in Maharastra. It was built with the help of the USA and under the supervision of the International Atomic Energy Agency(IAEA). It was commissioned on 28th October 1969.

Tarapur Nuclear power plant became first nuclear power plant of India made with the help of USA
Tarapur Nuclear Power Plant,

Nuclear Power Plants in India are work under the Nuclear Power Corporation of India Limited (NPCIL) and are under the Department of Atomic Energy (DAE). Department of Atomic Energy works under the Prime Minister of India.

In 1969 when this power plant was commissioned it had two units with each having a capacity of 140 MW. The type of reactor was the Boiled Water Reactor. These two units are working since then and supplying power in the state of Maharastra.

In 2005-06 two more reactors were commissioned at this place with each having 540 MW capacity of each unit. These two units are Pressurised Heavy Water Reactor (PHWR). The latter two units are built by India itself.

So Overall capacity Tarapur Nuclear Power Plant at present is 1400 MW.

Since the first two units at Tarapur was build as an agreement with the United States of America. The USA was supposed to supply nuclear fuel for these units for 30 years but after Pokhran I in 1974, the USA refused to supply nuclear fuel to India. Since then power Plants at Tarapur are operating on the fuel supplied by Russia, Canada, and others.

The two units of first Nuclear Power Plant of India at Tarapur are working for the last 50 years so it is like two earlier units will be decommissioned in a decade or so.

Nuclear Power is clean energy but it remains always in controversy due to security issues. A lot of people and organizations are apprehensive about setting up more and more Nuclear power plants to meet the increasing demands.

Today India is capable to make Pressurised Heavy Water Reactor (PHWR). India is working on Fast Breeder Reactor which is capable of using Thorium as a nuclear fuel. This project is quite ambitious for India as it has a vast resource of Thorium.

India is trying to become a member of the Nuclear Supplier Group (NSG) but it has to become the 45 nations group that controls the nuclear technology of the world. India is facing the problem because it is not a signatory of the Non-Proliferation treaty (NPT).

nuclear power plants in India

S.NoName of the Nuclear Power PlantLocationTotal Capacity
1.Kudankulam Nuclear Power PlantTamil Nadu2000MW
2Tarapur Nuclear ReactorMaharastra1400MW
3Rajsthan Nuclear Power Plant(Rwatbhata)Rajsthan880MW
4Kaiga Atomic Power PlantKarnataka800MW
5Kalapakkam Nuclear Power PlantTamil Nadu235MW
6Narora Nuclear ReactorUttar Pradesh440 MW
7Kakrapar Nuclear Power PlantGujrat440MW
List of Nuclear Power Plants in India
How many nuclear power plant is there in India?

At present, a total of 7 nuclear power plants are there in India.

What is the name of first nuclear power plant in India?

Tarapur Nuclear Power Plant is the name of the first nuclear power plant in India. It is located in Maharastra.

Nuclear Power with largest installed capacity?

Kudankulam Nuclear Power Plant has the largest installed capacity of 2000MW. And another 2000MW capacity is under construction. It was made with the cooperation of Russia.